How the Pandemic and Work From Home Impacted My Open Source Contributions

By Christopher McArthur, Conan Developer Advocate, @JFrog

June 20, 2022

5 min read

With the announcement of the lockdown, overnight we went from driving to the office to carving out a space to work in a corner of our homes. I was a little more fortunate than some having had an extra bedroom that was my home office when it all started.

Since then I’ve stumbled and tried to find a new balance between my workspace and home space.

Contributions

My background is as an OpenSource C++ developer but I’ve contributed to other projects like Vuls, ESLint plugins, and GitHub Actions.

My largest contributions have been to the Conan Center Index, which is the central repository for the C++ package manager. I have also made some support tooling to help the community get new packages added, update existing packages, and track the progress on each pull request.

This is my past year of activity.

May 2021 to October 2021 is pretty full, I probably was putting in 3hrs a day. The break between October and November was my move from Montreal to Sunnyvale and it took some time to get settled. January was my return to contributions but starting February there was a big drop in activity… April almost none and you can see the few days in May I tried to get back to the open-source project I love.

Acknowledging the challenge

I recently got an email from a fellow community member asking to take over one of my support tools. I had been so disconnected, the tool was no longer providing accurate or relevant information. The contributor submitted a pull request which I completely missed for over a week.

I did not realize how big of an impact my absence was having.

It took a few weeks of reflection on the last two years, talking with friends and coworkers, to find a thread to pull on.