The Platform Admin has full control over all of the projects in the JFrog Platform, which enables them to perform a series of dedicated management tasks on the projects. To gain full visibility of all of the projects, Platform Admins have access to a dashboard view of all the projects, displaying the storage quota status and the Project Admins assigned to the project. This dashboard is accessible when selecting All from the projects list on the taskbar.
Platform Admins can also manage projects using a set of dedicated administrative tasks.
Viewing Projects in a Dashboard View
Platform Admins can view all of the projects in the Projects Dashboard by selecting All from the taskbar. A project summary lists the Project Admins assigned to the project and the project quota status. In addition, the dashboard displays quota status alerts, which indicate the status of the project.
Modifying a Project
Platform Admins can change the basic settings of a project by clicking the Edit Settings above the project.
Managing Storage Quotas
Only Platform Admins can set storage quotas on a project.
By default, projects are set with an unlimited storage quota. The Storage Quota functions differently based on JFrog Platform Environment:
In a self-hosted environment, Platform Admins can limit the space allocated for uploading repositories by setting storage quotas at the project level when creating a new project.
In a cloud-based environment, Platform Admins can set a limit for informational purposes by selecting the Deploy Beyond Limit field.
To help Project Admins manage storage quotas, a set of quota alerts are displayed within the Project dashboard in the UI. These alerts are displayed whena project reaches 75 percent capacity and at 100 percent, whereby no additional artifacts can be deployed.
At the project level, under the Storage tab in the left pane, you can view the artifacts size for each repository in the project.
Sharing Repositories Across Multiple Projects
Platform Admins can share local and remote repositories across multiple projects to allow members in more than one project to have access to the repository. A classic use case for sharing a repository is the need to share anexternal remoterepository (for instance, DockerHub)with multipleprojects. A repository can be shared with a single project or across all projects. Once the repository is shared, it is added to the target project/s and tagged as Shared in the Repositories page. In addition to the managing shares in the UI, you can also set share projects using the REST API. For more information, see Share Repository with All Projects.
Shared Repositories Rules and Guidelines
A Repository can be shared only after it has been created.
Project Members are granted actions to the shared repo according to their Roles and Role actions assigned in the target project.
Only the owner of the shared repository can delete the shared repository. A Shared repository can be removed from the project, but this will not trigger the deletion of the repository.
The Storage Quota is calculated for the source repository of the shared repository.
To share a repository:
In the Administration module, select Projects and navigate to [Project_Name] | Repositories and click the Actions button and then click Share.
You have the option to share the selected repository:
Across all the projects, by selecting the Auto share with all projectsfield or select Read Only to share repositories within a Project/s in Read-Only mode to avoid any changes or modifications of the shared content.
Only with specific projects, by Project Name from the projects list.
Assigning Multiple Projects to Resources
You can assign projects to resources from the central resources page. This is useful if you have upgraded from a previous version of the JFrog Platform and your resources are set as unassigned and you need to assign multiple unassigned resources to projects.
To assign projects to repositories:
In the Administration module, select Projects | Unassigned tab and click Go to unassigned repositories.
The Repositories page opens with an Unassigned filter applied.
In Repositories, select one of the following: Local | Remote | Virtual | Distribution.
Deleting a Project
Platform Admins can delete a project that does not contain any assigned or available resources.
To delete a project, you will first need to remove or reassign the project's resources to another project.